IUGA Eco Friendly PU vs Lululemon The Big Mat: Which One Should You Buy?

These two are built the same way, polyurethane bonded to natural rubber, and they arrive at opposite answers. The IUGA is $66.99 and 2.1 pounds, and OutdoorGearLab gave it a Best Buy award as Best Value Upgrade with a score of 75 out of 100. Lululemon's Big Mat is $128 and 7.1 pounds, and it is 84 by 28 inches, which is more floor than almost any other mat sold.

By the YogaCompare TeamUpdated August 27, 2026

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases made through links on this page. How this works

The quick answer

On the surface itself the IUGA holds up remarkably well. GearLab rated it 8 out of 10 dry and 7 wet, ahead of the 71 inch version of the Lululemon on both, and listed excellent grip, stable and comfortable, and lightweight among its pros. It weighs less than a third of the Big Mat and costs half as much. Its cons are real too: open cell, short lifespan, and a strong smell when new.

The Big Mat's case is space and staying power: sixteen inches longer, four wider, denser underfoot, and backed by a brand that will take a return seriously. If you are tall or want the room, that is worth paying for. If you want the best surface per dollar, the IUGA is the better buy and it is not close.

Get the IUGA if...

  • You want tested wet grip without paying premium prices
  • You carry your mat; 2.1 pounds against 7.1 is decisive
  • You would rather keep the $61
  • You want a choice of colors rather than black
Check IUGA price at Amazon

Get Lululemon The Big Mat if...

  • You are tall, and 84″ against 72″ solves a real problem
  • You want 28″ of width for wide stances
  • You want a mat that will still be good in three years
  • You want a brand that stands behind the purchase
Check Big Mat price at lululemon.com

Side by side

IUGA Eco Friendly Non Slip PU yoga mat

IUGA Eco Friendly Non Slip PU

Featherweight PU grip at a budget price

Lululemon The (Big) Mat 5mm yoga mat

Lululemon The (Big) Mat 5mm

The Mat, oversized to 84 by 28 inches

Price

The IUGA lists for about $61 less.

$66.99

List price · check price at Amazon

Thickness

Identical thickness.

5 mm0.2

5 mm0.2

Weight

The IUGA is 5 lbs lighter.

2.1 lbs0.95 kg

7.1 lbs3.2 kg

Size

The Big Mat is 12″ longer; the Big Mat is 2″ wider.

IUGA7226Big Mat8428

Same on both

  • Polyurethane top bonded to a natural rubber base
  • 5 mm thick, firm rather than plush
  • Built to keep grip when your hands get damp
  • Absorbent tops that stain with heavy use
  • Not safe with a latex allergy

Full specs

Dimensions

Length
72″ (183 cm)
84″ (213 cm)
Width
26″ (66 cm)
28″ (71 cm)
Thickness
5 mm (0.2″)
5 mm (0.2″)
Weight
2.1 lbs (0.95 kg)
7.1 lbs (3.2 kg)

Materials & build

Material
Polyurethane top, natural rubber base
Natural rubber base, polyurethane top
Construction
Absorbent top layer (soaks up sweat)
Absorbent top layer (soaks up sweat)
Top surface
Smooth sweat-absorbing polyurethane
Smooth, grippy polyurethane
Bottom
Textured natural rubber
Textured rubber (reversible)
Made in
Not stated
Not stated
Certifications
None
FSC-certified natural rubber

Buying

List price
$66.99
$128
Warranty
None (45-day returns)
Quality Promise (no set term)
Other sizes
None
Colors
Five colorways at last count
Black at last count

The same build at half the price

Polyurethane bonded to a natural rubber base, 5 mm, on both. That is the construction premium mats use to handle sweat, and the IUGA delivers it for $66.99.

OutdoorGearLab noticed. It gave the IUGA a Best Buy award as Best Value Upgrade, scored it 75 out of 100, and summed it up as half the weight of most rubber mats but just as high quality.

Lululemon’s Big Mat costs $128 and answers a different question: it is 84″ × 28″, which is more floor than almost anything else sold as a yoga mat.

The cheaper mat tested better

GearLab rated the IUGA 8 out of 10 dry and 7 wet, with excellent grip among its pros. It rated the 71 inch version of the Lululemon 6.5 dry and 4.5 wet. On the numbers, the $66.99 mat is ahead on both.

That is one test rather than a physical law, and it is a read across from The Mat to the Big Mat rather than a direct measurement of the Big Mat itself. It is still the most careful side-by-side either product has been through, and it points the opposite way to the price tags.

Worth being clear about what it does not mean: the IUGA is not a better mat overall. GearLab put it four points behind The Mat on total score. It just grips better.

Size is what the Big Mat is selling

84″ × 28″ against the IUGA’s 72″ × 26″. Twelve inches of length and two of width, on top of a mat that is already wider than standard.

The IUGA is not a small mat. At 72 by 26 it is longer and wider than the 68 by 24 most brands ship, and GearLab listed wide dimensions in its pros. So the Big Mat is not fixing a problem the IUGA has; it is offering more again, for people who are tall or who want to stop thinking about the edges entirely.

If you are under about six foot, that extra foot is floor space you are paying for and may not use.

Two pounds against seven

2.1 pounds against 7.1, and GearLab confirmed the IUGA by measurement at 2.1. That is lighter than most travel mats while still being a full 5 mm thick, which is genuinely unusual.

Seven pounds is studio-mat territory rather than commuter territory, and the Big Mat’s length gives it a fat roll to match. It wants a corner to live in.

For anyone who walks or takes transit to a studio, this gap settles the comparison before grip or size get a vote.

Where the IUGA gives ground

GearLab listed short lifespan among the IUGA’s cons, and that is the honest cost of a $66.99 mat using a premium construction. The polyurethane top is thinner and it scuffs and marks at the points your hands and feet land.

The Lululemon is the more solidly built of the two and GearLab scored its materials higher. It stains as well, since every absorbent top does, but it holds up longer under the same practice.

Coverage differs too. IUGA gives a 45 day return window and no warranty. Lululemon’s Quality Promise carries no fixed term and gets judged case by case, which counts for more than it reads like, so hold on to your receipt.

What open cell means day to day

GearLab put open cell in the IUGA’s cons, and it is worth unpacking, because it is the same property that produces the good wet grip. The top layer draws moisture into the mat instead of letting it sit on the surface. That is what keeps your hands from sliding, and it is also why sweat and body oils end up inside the material.

Practically it means wiping down after sweaty sessions and a proper clean now and then. GearLab still rated care and cleaning 8 out of 10 and called it easy to wipe down, so this is upkeep rather than a burden. The Big Mat behaves the same way for the same reason.

The IUGA smells when it is new

GearLab listed strong smell initially in the cons rather than burying it, and owners say the same. A new one can be noticeable for a week or two before it fades with use and air.

Leave it open in a well-aired room for a few days before you first practice on it and most of that passes. The Lululemon has a milder rubber smell that clears faster. Neither is a defect; both are what natural rubber does out of the packaging.

Colors, coverage, and where to buy

The IUGA sells on Amazon and theiuga.com in five colorways, frequently below its $66.99 list price.

The Big Mat is a shop.lululemon.com and in-store purchase only, black at last count, with no Amazon listing. If the size is more than you need, the standard 71 inch version of The Mat is the one GearLab actually tested and scored 81 out of 100.

Both are built on natural rubber, so neither suits a genuine latex allergy.

Bottom line

Get the IUGA if you want the most surface per dollar. It grips better than mats twice its price, weighs a third of the alternative, and comes in colors. You are trading away years of life and a brand that will take a return seriously, and at $66.99 that is a reasonable trade to make twice.

Get the Big Mat if the extra foot of length is solving something real for you and the mat is not going anywhere. The extra floor is a real thing few mats offer, and it is built to still be good in three years. Just do not buy it expecting the grip to match the price, because in testing it did not.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the cheaper mat really grip better?
In OutdoorGearLab's testing, yes. The IUGA rated 8 out of 10 dry and 7 wet with excellent grip in its pros, while the 71 inch version of the Lululemon rated 6.5 dry and 4.5 wet. GearLab did not test the Big Mat itself, but it is the same construction and materials in a larger cut, so that is a reasonable read across. It is one test rather than a law, and it is the most careful side-by-side either mat has been through.
So why pay $61 more for the Lululemon?
Size and lifespan. The Big Mat is 84 by 28 inches against 72 by 26, which is a large amount of extra room if you are tall or practice with wide stances. GearLab also put short lifespan in the IUGA's cons, while it scored the Lululemon's materials higher and gave the standard version a perfect 10 for comfort. You are buying a mat that stays good longer, on more floor.
What does open cell mean for the IUGA?
It means the top layer takes moisture into the mat rather than holding it on the surface, which is what makes the wet grip work and also what shortens its life. Sweat and oils go in, so it wants wiping down after sweaty sessions and a proper clean periodically. GearLab still rated its care and cleaning 8 out of 10 and called it easy to wipe down, so this is maintenance rather than a chore.
Does the IUGA smell?
Yes, and GearLab listed strong smell initially among its cons rather than burying it. New ones can be noticeable for a week or two before fading with use and air. Unroll it somewhere ventilated for a few days before the first session. The Lululemon has a milder rubber smell that clears faster.
How much does the weight difference matter?
It is the largest practical gap here. The IUGA is 2.1 pounds, which GearLab confirmed by measurement and called half the weight of most rubber mats. The Big Mat is 7.1 and physically bulkier because of the extra length. For anyone who walks or takes transit to a studio, this decides it before grip or size get a say.
Was the Big Mat itself tested?
No. GearLab tested The Mat 5mm, the 71 by 26 inch version, scoring it 81 out of 100 with a Top Pick for mixed fitness routines and a perfect 10 for comfort and support. The Big Mat is the same 5 mm construction and materials in a bigger cut, so those results indicate rather than measure this product. We would rather flag that than quote a score it never earned.
Where do I buy each, and what coverage is there?
The IUGA sells on Amazon and theiuga.com in five colorways, with a 45 day return window and no warranty. The Big Mat sells through shop.lululemon.com and Lululemon stores in black at last count, is not on Amazon, and is covered by Lululemon's Quality Promise, which has no set term and is handled case by case. Keep your receipt either way.

Browse all yoga mat comparisons →