Yoga Design Lab Combo vs Lululemon The (Big) Mat: Which One Should You Buy?

These two are $11 apart, and both put a sweat-absorbing layer over natural rubber: a microfiber towel on the Yoga Design Lab Combo, polyurethane on Lululemon's Big Mat. The Big Mat is 14 inches longer, 4 wider, 1.5 mm thicker and 2.2 pounds heavier. GearLab scored the Combo 52 and the standard-size Lululemon 81.

By the YogaCompare TeamUpdated September 29, 2026

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases made through links on this page. How this works

The quick answer

GearLab ranked the Combo 17th of 19 with 52 points and wrote that its towel was slicker than it hoped for a mat designed for hot yoga, scoring it 4 for both dry and wet grip. The standard Lululemon The Mat finished fourth with 81 and led all four categories, and the Big Mat is the same surface with about 40% more area. The Combo's real advantages are that it can be laundered, it comes in 19 prints at last count, and it weighs 4.9 pounds against 7.1.

For a home practice, especially if you're tall, the Big Mat is the better buy for $11 more. Get the Combo if washing your mat or having a print matters more to you than grip scores.

Get the Yoga Design Lab Combo if...

  • You want to put your mat through a gentle wash cycle
  • You want one of its 19 printed designs
  • You carry your mat and prefer 4.9 pounds to 7.1
  • 70 by 24 inches is enough room for you
Check Combo price at Amazon

Get the Lululemon Big Mat if...

  • You want the better grip and cushion GearLab found in the standard size
  • You're tall or broad and want 84 by 28 inches
  • You practice at home and have seven feet of floor
  • You'd like a textured rubber side to flip to
Check Big Mat price at lululemon.com

Side by side

Yoga Design Lab Combo 3.5mm yoga mat

Yoga Design Lab Combo 3.5mm

A yoga towel bonded to a rubber mat

Lululemon The (Big) Mat 5mm yoga mat

Lululemon The (Big) Mat 5mm

The Mat, oversized to 84 by 28 inches

Price

The Combo lists for $11 less.

$117

List price · check price at Amazon

Thickness

The Big Mat is 43% thicker.

3.5 mm0.14″

5 mm0.2″

Weight

The Combo is 2.2 lbs lighter.

4.9 lbs2.2 kg

7.1 lbs3.2 kg

Size

The Big Mat is 14″ longer; the Big Mat is 4″ wider.

Combo70″24″Big Mat84″28″

Same on both

  • Natural rubber base, so both contain latex
  • A top layer that soaks up sweat
  • Within GearLab's recommended 3 to 5 mm range

Full specs

Dimensions

Length
70″ (178 cm)
84″ (213 cm)
Width
24″ (61 cm)
28″ (71 cm)
Thickness
3.5 mm (0.14″)
5 mm (0.2″)
Weight
4.9 lbs (2.2 kg)
7.1 lbs (3.2 kg)

Materials & build

Material
Natural rubber base, recycled PET microfiber top
Natural rubber base, polyurethane top
Construction
Microfiber towel top (absorbs sweat like a towel)
Absorbent top layer (soaks up sweat)
Top surface
Printed microfiber, grippier as it dampens
Smooth, grippy polyurethane
Bottom
Natural rubber
Textured rubber (reversible)
Made in
Not stated
Not stated
Certifications
None
FSC-certified natural rubber

Buying

List price
$117
$128
Warranty
None (30 day returns, unused only)
Quality Promise (no set term)
Other sizes
  • Combo 5.5mm70" × 24"
  • Combo Flow 1.5mm70" × 24"
Colors
19 printed designs in the 3.5mm at last count
Black at last count

Eleven dollars for 14 more inches

Yoga Design Lab’s Combo bonds a printed towel of recycled microfiber to a natural tree rubber base: 3.5 mm, 70″ × 24″, $117. Lululemon’s The (Big) Mat pairs a polyurethane top with an FSC-certified natural rubber base: 5 mm, 84″ × 28″, $128.

Both put a sweat-absorbing layer over natural rubber, which means both contain latex. The $11 difference buys 14 inches of length, 4 of width and 1.5 mm of thickness, plus 2.2 more pounds to lift. GearLab tested the Combo and the standard-size Lululemon, and the two finished a long way apart.

Seventeenth against fourth

The Combo placed 17th of 19 in GearLab’s March 2026 test, at 52 out of 100, with scores of 6, 4, 5 and 6 across comfort, grip, materials and care. GearLab’s cons for it read slippery for dry and wet grip, collects lint, and narrow.

On the Lululemon side, GearLab’s test mat was the standard-size The Mat. It came fourth at 81, won Best Mat for Mixed Fitness Routines and beat the Combo in all four categories with 10, 7, 7 and 7. Those results carry over to the Big Mat’s surface, though the Big Mat itself was never tested.

Two absorbent tops, one hot yoga pitch

Yoga Design Lab pitches the Combo’s moisture-activated grip for hot yoga, saying the surface gets grippier as you sweat. GearLab didn’t find that: it wrote that the towel was slicker, dry and wet, than it had hoped for a mat designed for hot yoga, and its grip table gives the Combo 4 dry and 4 wet. A microfiber top is meant to need some dampness, and it still scored low.

The standard The Mat scored 6.5 dry and 4.5 wet in that table, so the Lululemon’s clear lead is in a cool room. GearLab’s text is kinder to it once sweat arrives: the top absorbs quickly, and traction held up even when the mat was soaking wet.

Combo owners disagree with each other. Grip gets 38 positive and 25 negative mentions in Amazon’s review summary, with some owners reporting slipping a few minutes in. A Yoga Design Lab site reviewer calls it super grippy but says you can slip a little once it is soaked with sweat.

Seventy inches, and owners who want more

The Combo covers 1,680 square inches to the Big Mat’s 2,352, so the Lululemon is about 40% more mat. Seventy inches is five foot ten, and narrow is one of GearLab’s complaints about the Combo.

Some owners feel it. One Amazon reviewer who takes a heated vinyasa class likes the grip but expects to replace it with something bigger. Another wishes it were 72″ instead of 70″, and lighter. Yoga Design Lab also lists a $146 Combo XL; it was out of stock at our last look, and we couldn’t confirm its dimensions.

The Big Mat needs seven feet of clear floor. For the Lululemon surface at a size closer to the Combo’s, see The Mat vs Combo.

The 5.5 mm Combo weighs the same

At 3.5 mm the Combo is the thinner mat, and GearLab scored its comfort and support 6 against a perfect 10 for the standard The Mat. Amazon owners are happier with it than GearLab was, with cushioning mentions running 28 positive to 1 negative. GearLab suggests most people stay within 3 to 5 mm, and both mats do.

For more padding, Yoga Design Lab sells the Combo in 5.5 mm at $131. By Yoga Design Lab’s own figures it weighs 7.1 pounds, the same as the Big Mat, costs $3 more and keeps the 70″ × 24″ size.

The 3.5 mm Combo is 4.9 pounds by Yoga Design Lab’s figure, and GearLab weighed it at 4.6. Amazon owners still complain about the heft, 14 weight mentions negative to 7 positive. It does ship with a carry strap.

The Combo goes in the washer

Hand washing is Yoga Design Lab’s preference, since it says that extends the mat’s life, but a gentle cycle is allowed in a machine with no center agitator, using mild soap, followed by a hang to dry. The Amazon listing is stricter and says hand wash only. GearLab liked that washing takes no scrubbing or hosing and that the mat came out smelling fresh each time, though lint made its cons.

An 84 inch rubber mat isn’t going in a washer. GearLab counts needs deep cleans among the standard Lululemon’s cons, and says its top takes in oils and dirt along with sweat. Black, the Big Mat’s only color at last count, disguises the staining.

Printed microfiber or plain black

Prints are the Combo’s identity. There were 19 designs in the 3.5 mm at last count, applied with water-based inks, and Amazon’s review summary logs 53 positive appearance mentions against one negative.

The Big Mat is plain black at last count, while the standard The Mat comes in more colors. What the Lululemon offers instead is a second surface: its textured rubber underside, which GearLab counts as a pro for grip options.

Returns, coverage and latex

Both bases are natural rubber, so neither is an option with a latex allergy. Yoga Design Lab takes returns within 30 days of receipt, only if the mat is unused and back in its original packaging, and excludes final-sale items. It offers no warranty.

The Big Mat falls under Lululemon’s Quality Promise, which names no set term. GearLab puts the standard The Mat’s usual lifespan past five years, and it scored the Combo’s materials 5.

Ordering from Yoga Design Lab or Lululemon

The Combo is $117 at Yoga Design Lab’s site, and you can check the Combo’s price at Amazon. The Big Mat is $128 from lululemon.com and Lululemon stores; any Lululemon mat on Amazon is a reseller’s.

For the Big Mat against the standard size, read The Mat vs Big Mat. For the Combo against a light, latex-free mat that scored 70, see Earth Elements vs Combo.

Bottom line

For $11 more, the Big Mat is far bigger and, going by GearLab’s results for the standard size, the better mat in every scored category. It suits a home practice with seven feet of floor to spare, and a tall or broad body that keeps running out of mat.

Buy the Combo if putting your mat through the wash matters more than grip scores, you want a print, or you need something you can carry to class with a strap. Expect it to run narrow, and to slip at times dry or soaked.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Lululemon Big Mat worth $11 more than the Yoga Design Lab Combo?
For most people practicing at home, yes. The Big Mat is about 40% more mat, 1.5 mm thicker, and uses the same surface as the standard The Mat, which beat the Combo in all four of GearLab's categories, 81 to 52 overall. The Combo makes more sense if you want to launder your mat, want a print, or need something lighter to carry to class.
Is the Yoga Design Lab Combo good for hot yoga?
Yoga Design Lab says its surface gets grippier as you sweat and calls it ideal for hot yoga, but GearLab disagreed: it found the towel slicker than hoped for a hot yoga mat and scored it 4 dry and 4 wet. Owners are split, with 38 positive and 25 negative grip mentions in Amazon's review summary. The standard Lululemon scored 6.5 dry and 4.5 wet in the same table, and GearLab's write-up says it kept excellent traction even soaking wet.
Can you machine wash the Yoga Design Lab Combo?
Yoga Design Lab recommends hand washing to extend the mat's life but allows a gentle cycle in a machine without a center agitator, with mild soap, then a hang to dry. The Combo's Amazon listing says hand wash only. GearLab liked that it needs no scrubbing and came out smelling fresh, though it collects lint. The Big Mat can't go in a washer, and GearLab says the standard version needs occasional deep cleaning.
Does the Combo come in a bigger size?
Yoga Design Lab lists a Combo XL at $146, which was sold out when we checked, and we couldn't confirm its dimensions. The thicker 5.5 mm Combo costs $131 and is still 70 by 24 inches, and at 7.1 pounds by Yoga Design Lab's figure it weighs the same as the Big Mat.
Are either of these mats latex-free?
No. The Combo's base is natural tree rubber, and the Big Mat's is FSC-certified natural rubber, so both contain latex. If you have a latex allergy, look at TPE, PVC or cork-on-foam mats instead.
Which is easier to carry?
The Combo, at 4.9 pounds by Yoga Design Lab's figure, with a carry strap included, though 14 of 21 weight mentions in its Amazon review summary are complaints. The Big Mat weighs 7.1 pounds and rolls up seven feet long, so it is really a mat that stays at home.

Browse all yoga mat comparisons →