Gaiam Dry-Grip vs Dry-Grip Long & Wide: Which One Should You Buy?

This is the same Gaiam mat in two sizes: 5 mm of PVC under the same moisture-wicking topcoat, with the same lifetime guarantee and the same care rules. The Long & Wide adds 10 inches of length and 2 of width for $5 more, about a quarter more mat for 7 percent more money. Your height, your floor space and one color choice decide the rest.

By the YogaCompare TeamUpdated September 28, 2026

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases made through links on this page. How this works

The quick answer

Nothing about the surface changes between these two, so neither is the better mat, only the better fit. The standard Dry-Grip is 68 by 24 inches, which starts to feel short at about five foot seven. The Long & Wide is 78 by 26 for $5 more and fits people into the six-foot-four range, at the cost of about three quarters of a pound on Gaiam's spec sheet and a black-only color choice.

Buy the Long & Wide unless you are shorter than about five foot six, short on floor or bag space, or set on purple or blue. Either way, buy it for the firm cushion GearLab liked on the standard model, not for hot yoga.

Get the standard Dry-Grip if...

  • You're shorter than about five foot six
  • You want purple or blue rather than black
  • Your floor space or mat bag is sized for a 68 by 24 inch mat
  • You'd rather carry the lighter roll, 4.25 pounds on Gaiam's spec
Check Dry-Grip price at Amazon

Get the Long & Wide if...

  • You're about five foot seven or taller
  • You take wide stances or have broad shoulders
  • You want about a quarter more mat for $5
  • You are happy with black
Check Dry-Grip L&W price at Amazon

Side by side

Gaiam Performance Dry-Grip 5mm yoga mat

Gaiam Performance Dry-Grip 5mm

Gaiam's step-up mat with a moisture-wicking topcoat

Gaiam Performance Dry-Grip Long & Wide yoga mat

Gaiam Performance Dry-Grip Long & Wide

The Dry-Grip stretched to 78 by 26 inches

Price

The Dry-Grip lists for $5 less.

$69.98

List price · check price at Amazon

$74.98

List price · check price at Amazon

Thickness

Identical thickness.

5 mm0.2″

5 mm0.2″

Weight

The Dry-Grip is 0.8 lbs lighter.

4.25 lbs1.9 kg

5 lbs2.27 kg

Size

The Dry-Grip L&W is 10″ longer; the Dry-Grip L&W is 2″ wider.

Dry-Grip68″24″Dry-Grip L&W78″26″

Same on both

  • 5 mm PVC with Gaiam's moisture-wicking topcoat
  • Rubber-free and latex-free
  • Gaiam's lifetime guarantee, terms unpublished
  • Two to three days of airing out when new
  • Fades and turns brittle in long sun
  • Marketed by Gaiam as ideal for hot yoga

Full specs

Dimensions

Length
68″ (172 cm)
78″ (198 cm)
Width
24″ (61 cm)
26″ (66 cm)
Thickness
5 mm (0.2″)
5 mm (0.2″)
Weight
4.25 lbs (1.9 kg)
5 lbs (2.27 kg)

Materials & build

Material
PVC (latex-free)
PVC (latex-free)
Construction
Topcoated PVC (doesn't absorb sweat)
Topcoated PVC (doesn't absorb sweat)
Top surface
Smooth dry-grip topcoat
Smooth dry-grip topcoat
Bottom
Textured non-slip
Textured non-slip
Made in
Not stated
Not stated
Certifications
None
None

Buying

List price
$69.98
$74.98
Warranty
Lifetime guarantee
Lifetime guarantee
Other sizes
Colors
Black, purple, and blue at last count
One print at a time on gaiam.com; black at last count

The same Dry-Grip in a bigger cut

Gaiam sells its Performance Dry-Grip in two sizes: 68″ × 24″ for $69.98, or 78″ × 26″ for $74.98. Both are 5 mm of PVC under the same moisture-wicking topcoat, both are rubber-free and latex-free, and both carry Gaiam’s lifetime guarantee.

So this page is mostly about fit. What changes is ten inches of length, two of width, about three quarters of a pound on paper, the color choice, and five dollars. What GearLab and owners say about the surface applies to both, so we cover it once.

Ten inches longer and two inches wider

Gaiam’s copy says the Long & Wide is ten inches longer and two wider than standard mats, which holds for Gaiam’s own 68 inch lineup. Many standard mats from other brands run 71 or 72 inches, so next to a typical studio mat the gain is six or seven inches.

The surface area jump is bigger than either number suggests: 1,632 square inches against 2,028, about a quarter more mat for a list price about 7 percent higher. Most of the size upgrades we cover cost $10 or more. Gaiam charges five.

Who outgrows 68 inches

In savasana your head and feet both belong on the mat, and a long down dog pushes your hands and feet toward the ends, so you need some slack beyond your height. On 68 inches that slack runs out around five foot seven or eight.

The Long & Wide’s 78 inches works for people into the six-foot-four range. Under about five foot six, the extra length only takes up floor. In between, we would still size up, since five dollars is a small price for never thinking about where your heels land.

What 26 inches of width does

At 24 inches, a wide-legged forward fold puts your feet near the edges, and broad shoulders bring your hands close to the sides in down dog. Two more inches fixes that without making the mat awkward, and it is the width the Manduka PRO and Lululemon’s The Mat use.

The cost is floor space: about six and a half feet by just over two. In a small apartment, measure the spot before ordering.

What GearLab found, and which size it tested

GearLab tested the standard 68 inch Dry-Grip, not the Long & Wide. The topcoat and PVC are the same, so the results are a fair guide to both, but they are the standard model’s numbers: 62 out of 100, twelfth of 19, with 8 of 10 for comfort and support and 4 for materials.

The cushion is the highlight. GearLab called it ideal, good on the joints and firm for support, said the mat doesn’t budge on the ground, and thought it well suited to a stretching practice, while noting it is not the grippiest sticky mat.

One paperwork gap: Gaiam’s standard page says the mat is free of the six most harmful phthalates, and the Long & Wide page leaves that line out. We would expect the same PVC, but Gaiam doesn’t say so.

Both sizes promise hot yoga grip

Gaiam markets both sizes as ideal for hot yoga. GearLab scored the standard mat’s wet grip 3.5 out of 10, second lowest of the 19, ahead of only the Primasole Foldable. Its dry grip was a middling 6.5. A bigger piece of the same surface won’t do better.

Owners are kinder: Amazon’s review summary, pooled across both sizes, says customers praise grip that stays put when they sweat. We trust the side-by-side test more, since plenty of owners never practice in a hot room. For heated classes, plan on a towel, or consider a mat built around sweat, such as the Manduka GRP Adapt 2.0.

Three quarters of a pound, on paper

Gaiam lists 4.25 pounds for the standard and 5 for the Long & Wide. GearLab’s scale put the standard at 5.4, more than a pound over Gaiam’s figure. As far as we can tell nobody has weighed the bigger mat independently, so take its 5 pounds as a best case.

Mats roll from a short end, so the Long & Wide rolls 26 inches tall instead of 24, and barely fatter, since ten inches is less than one extra turn. Gaiam suggests storing it in a bag, and one sized for 24 inch mats may not close over it.

Durability, dye and the guarantee

The surface is the weak spot. GearLab’s materials score of 4 tied for second lowest in the test, and it warned that the surface dye can rub off, recommending you buff a new mat with a towel so it doesn’t mark your clothes. Amazon’s review summary adds reports of the top layer peeling away from the base.

Care is identical. Leave a new one unrolled for a couple of days so the smell can fade, wipe it with cold water and a little mild detergent, and store it away from sunlight, which Gaiam says makes the PVC brittle.

Gaiam doesn’t publish its lifetime guarantee terms; we would read them as defect cover, not a promise against wear. Its 30-day returns cover only unopened, unused gaiam.com orders, so you can’t test the fit and send it back that way.

Colors, price and the Amazon size selector

The standard comes in black, purple and blue at gaiam.com; the Long & Wide is black only. That is the main thing you give up by sizing up.

List prices are $69.98 and $74.98. On Amazon both sizes share a listing, with the Long & Wide shown as Black (XL) and about 4.2 stars from roughly 2,560 ratings pooled across both. Its bullets describe the 68 inch mat even with XL selected, so confirm 78 × 26 in the details. Check the standard Dry-Grip at Amazon and the Long & Wide at Amazon for today’s prices.

Unsure about the Dry-Grip itself? Our Gaiam Premium vs Dry-Grip Long & Wide page weighs it against Gaiam’s $30 mat, which tied the standard model in GearLab’s test.

Bottom line

For most buyers, the Long & Wide is the one to get. Five dollars buys about a quarter more mat, room for people well over six feet, and width for wide stances. You give up purple and blue and carry a slightly bigger roll.

Get the standard Dry-Grip if you are shorter than about five foot six, your space or mat bag is tight, or you want purple or blue. Either way, buy it for the firm cushion, not for hot yoga.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much bigger is the Gaiam Dry-Grip Long & Wide?
It is 78 by 26 inches against the standard Dry-Grip's 68 by 24, so 10 inches longer and 2 inches wider. That works out to 2,028 square inches of mat against 1,632, roughly a quarter more surface, and the thickness stays at 5 mm. Gaiam calls it 10 inches longer than standard mats, which is true of Gaiam's own 68 inch mats. Next to the 71 or 72 inch mats many other brands sell, the gain is six or seven inches.
Is the Long & Wide worth $5 more?
For most people, yes. List prices are $69.98 and $74.98 at gaiam.com, and the extra $5 buys about a quarter more mat, room for people up to about six foot four, and two inches of width for wide stances. The costs are a slightly heavier and taller roll, more floor space, and color: the Long & Wide comes in black only, while the standard comes in black, purple and blue. If you're shorter than about five foot six and tight on space, the standard size is enough.
Did GearLab test the Dry-Grip Long & Wide?
No. GearLab tested the standard 68 inch Dry-Grip in its 2026 roundup and scored it 62 out of 100, twelfth of 19, with 8 of 10 for comfort and support, 4 for materials, 6.5 for dry grip and 3.5 for wet grip. The Long & Wide uses the same topcoat and PVC, so those results are a reasonable guide to it, but they are the standard model's scores, not a test of the bigger mat.
Is the Gaiam Dry-Grip good for hot yoga?
Not on the evidence we trust most. Gaiam markets both sizes as ideal for hot yoga, but GearLab scored the standard Dry-Grip's wet grip 3.5 out of 10, second lowest of the 19 mats it tested. Amazon's review summary says owners praise its grip when sweaty, though many owners never practice in a heated room. If you take hot classes, plan on a towel or choose a mat with an absorbent top.
Which Amazon option is the Dry-Grip Long & Wide?
Both sizes sit on one Amazon listing, and the Long & Wide appears as the Black (XL) option. The listing's bullet points describe the 68 inch mat even when XL is selected, so check that the details table shows 78 by 26 inches before you buy. The star rating, about 4.2 from roughly 2,560 ratings, is pooled across both sizes.
Is the Gaiam Dry-Grip safe for a latex allergy?
Gaiam describes both sizes as rubber-free and latex-free, and they are PVC rather than natural rubber, so they suit people who need to avoid latex. One documentation gap: Gaiam's page for the standard mat also says it is free of six phthalates, and the Long & Wide page doesn't repeat that line, though we would expect the same PVC. Both arrive with a strong smell, and Gaiam asks you to air them out for two to three days.

Browse all yoga mat comparisons →