Yoga Design Lab Combo vs Gaiam Essentials: Which One Should You Buy?

The Gaiam Essentials is a $22 first mat. The Yoga Design Lab Combo is a $117 recycled microfiber towel fused to natural rubber, sold to people who already practice on a towel. In GearLab's soak test the Combo scored 4 out of 10 for wet grip, level with a similar $29.98 Gaiam, so the question is whether a washable all-in-one mat is worth $94.87 more to you.

By the YogaCompare TeamUpdated September 29, 2026

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases made through links on this page. How this works

The quick answer

The Essentials is thicker, lighter and latex free, costs about a fifth as much, and comes with a carry sling on Amazon and a lifetime guarantee. The Combo's towel top didn't out-grip Gaiam's PVC in testing: it scored 4 wet in GearLab's soak, the same as the closely related Gaiam Premium 6mm. Its real case is a towel you never have to straighten, a mat you can machine wash, and its prints.

Most people, and certainly beginners, should buy the Essentials and add a towel if they sweat. Buy the Combo only if you already practice on a towel, you're tired of it sliding, and you'd rather wash one thing than keep a mat and a towel in rotation.

Get the Yoga Design Lab Combo if...

  • A loose towel keeps sliding on you and you want one fixed in place
  • Laundering the mat itself, not just a towel, appeals to you
  • You care about the print as much as the price
  • You want recycled fabric on top instead of PVC
Check Combo price at Amazon

Get the Gaiam Essentials if...

  • You're just starting out or practice occasionally
  • Your knees want 6 mm of padding
  • Someone in your home reacts to latex
  • About $95 matters more to you than a towel top
Check Gaiam Essentials price at Amazon

Side by side

Yoga Design Lab Combo 3.5mm yoga mat

Yoga Design Lab Combo 3.5mm

A yoga towel bonded to a rubber mat

Gaiam Essentials 6mm yoga mat

Gaiam Essentials 6mm

The plain, longer, cheaper Gaiam

Price

The Gaiam Essentials lists for about $95 less.

$117

List price · check price at Amazon

$22.13

List price · check price at Amazon

Thickness

The Gaiam Essentials is 71% thicker.

3.5 mm0.14″

6 mm0.24″

Weight

The Gaiam Essentials is 1.4 lbs lighter.

4.9 lbs2.2 kg

3.5 lbs1.59 kg

Size

The Gaiam Essentials is 2″ longer; same width.

Combo70″24″Gaiam Essentials72″24″

Same on both

  • 24 inches wide
  • Both marketed for hot yoga
  • Neither brand states where it's made

Full specs

Dimensions

Length
70″ (178 cm)
72″ (183 cm)
Width
24″ (61 cm)
24″ (61 cm)
Thickness
3.5 mm (0.14″)
6 mm (0.24″)
Weight
4.9 lbs (2.2 kg)
3.5 lbs (1.59 kg)

Materials & build

Material
Natural rubber base, recycled PET microfiber top
PVC (latex-free, 6P-free)
Construction
Microfiber towel top (absorbs sweat like a towel)
Soft PVC foam (squishier than premium mats)
Top surface
Printed microfiber, grippier as it dampens
Textured sticky finish
Bottom
Natural rubber
Same textured finish (either side practices)
Made in
Not stated
Not stated
Certifications
None
None

Buying

List price
$117
$22.13
Warranty
None (30 day returns, unused only)
Lifetime guarantee
Other sizes
  • Combo 5.5mm70" × 24"
  • Combo Flow 1.5mm70" × 24"
None
Colors
19 printed designs in the 3.5mm at last count
Seven plain colors at last count

The cheapest Gaiam against a towel-topped mat

The Gaiam Essentials is a 6 mm soft PVC mat that lists at $22.13, comes with a sling when bought through the Amazon listing we link, and holds a 4.6 average from about 15,000 Amazon ratings. The Yoga Design Lab Combo is 3.5 mm of natural rubber under a printed, recycled microfiber towel, for $117. That is a $94.87 gap.

The Essentials is a first mat for finding out whether yoga sticks. The Combo is aimed at someone who already lays a towel over their mat and wants the two joined, and most of this page comes down to whether that is you.

What GearLab can and cannot tell you here

GearLab tested the Combo in its 19 mat roundup and scored it 52, 17th overall: comfort and support 6, grip 4, materials 5, care and cleaning 6. In its separate wet and dry table it scored 4 both ways.

It hasn’t tested the Essentials. The closest thing it did test is Gaiam’s Premium 6mm, the same thickness and the same sticky PVC idea. It scored 62, won GearLab’s award for a first mat, and rated 6 dry and 4 wet. Treat that as a guide to Gaiam’s surface, not a score for the Essentials.

Side by side, the $117 towel mat tied the $29.98 Gaiam on wet grip and trailed it by two points dry.

Sweat: the towel top did not pull ahead

Yoga Design Lab promises moisture-activated grip that gets better as you sweat, and markets the Combo for hot yoga. Yet even soaked with a liter of water in GearLab’s wet test, it scored 4, and GearLab’s cons for it open with slippery for dry and wet grip.

Gaiam’s Amazon listing makes its own claim: excellent traction in all types of yoga, even heated practices and hot yoga. Owners disagree: 111 of 206 grip mentions in its review summary are negative, and one owner found it slippery once their hands got at all sweaty. Combo owners are closer to evenly split, with about three positive grip mentions for every two negative.

The obvious alternative is a mat and a towel

The Combo’s Amazon description says its point is that you no longer need to bring a mat and a towel to class. Yoga Design Lab sells the towel half of that setup too: its own Yoga Mat Towel lists at $61 and a hand towel at $21.

An Essentials and that mat towel come to $83.13 at list, about $34 less than the Combo. You get a thicker mat underneath and a towel that goes in the wash on its own. What you give up is the bond: a loose towel can bunch or creep during a flow, which is the problem the Combo exists to fix.

Thickness runs the other way from price

The Essentials is soft PVC foam, and its 6 mm is kind to knees in floor work. Owners mostly agree, with 130 of 201 thickness mentions positive, though some found it thinner than they expected. The tradeoff with foam that soft is steadiness when you balance on one foot.

The Combo is 2.5 mm thinner and earned a 6 for comfort and support from GearLab. Owners seldom complain about its cushion on Amazon, but one lists the thickness among their gripes because they feel it under bony spots.

Length depends on which Essentials you buy

The Essentials on Amazon is 72″ × 24″, two inches longer than the Combo’s 70″ × 24″. Buy from gaiam.com instead and you get a 68″ × 24″ version for $19.98, minus the sling, which is two inches shorter than the Combo. Confirm the length before you order.

Both are 24 inches wide, and GearLab lists narrow among the Combo’s cons. The Essentials weighs 3.5 pounds to the Combo’s 4.9, though GearLab’s scale read 4.6 for the Combo. Each comes with a sling or strap.

Into the wash, or a quick wipe

Hand washing is what Yoga Design Lab recommends for the Combo, but it can take a delicate wash with mild detergent as long as the machine lacks a center agitator. It then hangs to dry out of the sun, and Yoga Design Lab wants it rolled with the pattern facing outward to avoid creases. GearLab reports it smelled fresh after each wash, and lists collects lint among its cons.

The Essentials is PVC, which absorbs nothing, so a wipe with a damp cloth keeps it clean. Its listing asks you to air a new one out for two to three days, and 59 of 91 odor mentions from owners are negative.

Latex-free PVC against recycled fabric on rubber

Gaiam sells the Essentials as latex free and lists the six phthalates it leaves out, so it works in a home where someone reacts to latex. The Combo’s natural tree rubber base rules it out there. Its top is recycled PET microfiber, and Yoga Design Lab says it uses no silicone or toxic glue and is phthalate free.

Looks are the easiest win for the Combo. It comes in 19 printed designs in the 3.5mm at last count, and only one of the 54 owners who mention its appearance on Amazon is unhappy. The Essentials comes in seven plain colors at last count.

After the sale, and where to buy

Gaiam covers the Essentials for life but doesn’t spell out the terms, so assume that means manufacturing faults rather than the slow thinning soft foam goes through. An Amazon order follows Amazon’s return policy. Yoga Design Lab has no warranty and takes a Combo back within 30 days of receipt only if it is unused and repacked in its original packaging.

For current prices, see the Gaiam Essentials on Amazon and the Combo on Amazon, whose listing averages 4.6 stars over about 620 ratings. The Combo also sells direct at yogadesignlab.com.

Bottom line

The Essentials is the pick for beginners, unheated rooms, sore knees and anyone who needs a latex-free mat. It is longer on Amazon, lighter and $94.87 cheaper, and if you do start sweating, a separate towel still leaves you well under the Combo’s price.

The Combo makes sense for someone who already lays a towel down every class, is tired of it sliding, and likes the idea of a mat that goes in the washer. Go in knowing GearLab found it slippery and that it is thin. For a mat that grips when wet for about $50 less than the Combo, see our IUGA vs Essentials page.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Yoga Design Lab Combo worth the extra money?
Only for a specific buyer. GearLab scored the Combo 52 out of 100, 17th of 19, with 4 out of 10 dry and the same wet. What the money buys is a microfiber towel that can't shift because it is bonded to the rubber, the option of a gentle machine wash, and about 20 printed designs. If you already practice on a separate towel and hate straightening it, that can be worth it. If you don't, the $22 Essentials is the better buy.
Will the Essentials hold up in a hot yoga class?
Probably not without a towel. Gaiam's Amazon copy claims traction even in heated practices, but most owners who bring up grip are unhappy, 111 of 206. GearLab hasn't tested this mat; Gaiam's closely related Premium 6mm managed only 4 out of 10 in its soak test, the same as the Combo.
Can I just put a towel on the Essentials instead of buying the Combo?
Yes, and it costs less. Yoga Design Lab's own Yoga Mat Towel lists at $61, so an Essentials plus that towel comes to about $83, roughly $34 under the Combo, and you get a thicker mat underneath. The tradeoff is that a loose towel can bunch or creep during a flow, which is the problem the Combo's bonded top is designed to solve.
Which one is more comfortable?
For kneeling and floor work, the Essentials. It is 2.5 mm thicker than the Combo, and 130 of the 201 owners who comment on its thickness are positive. GearLab rated the Combo a 6 for comfort and support, though its owners rarely complain about cushion. Soft foam gives up some steadiness on one foot, so the thicker mat isn't automatically better for standing poses.
Which length of Essentials will I get?
It depends where you buy. The Amazon listing we link sells the 72 inch mat with a carrying sling; Gaiam's own store sells a 68 inch Essentials for $19.98 with no sling. The Combo sits between them at 70 inches. Look at the listed dimensions before you order.
Can someone with a latex allergy use either one?
Only the Essentials. It is PVC with no latex, and Gaiam names the six phthalates it avoids. The Combo's towel sits on natural tree rubber, which rules it out.

Browse all yoga mat comparisons →